Omicron: Nigeria, Egypt, and Malawi are barred from entering Canada

Travellers from Nigeria, Egypt, and Malawi have been barred from entering Canada due to concerns about the spread of the new Omicron COVID-19 variant. Remember that the World Health Organization labelled B.1.1.529 as an Omicron variant and classified it as a concern variant last Friday. Since then, it’s been discovered in a lot of countries and regions, as well as in Canada, where it has been confirmed in several travel-related cases.

The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Health, the Honourable Omar Alghabra, Minister of Transport, and the Honourable Marco Mendicino, Minister of Public Safety, announced additional border measures on Tuesday to minimize the risk of COVID-19 and its variants via importation and transmission in Canada as a result of international travel in a news release.

According to the government of Canada, Egypt, Nigeria, and Malawi have been added to the list of countries with entry prohibitions originally announced on November 26, 2021, based on data from ongoing surveillance efforts and the most recent public health advice.
“Effective tomorrow, foreign nationals who have spent the previous 14 days in any of the following countries will be denied entry into Canada: Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Namibia, Egypt, Lesotho, Botswana, Mozambique and Eswatini.”
“Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and individuals with Indian Act status who have been in any of these 10 countries in the previous 14 days, regardless of their vaccination status or having a previous history of testing positive for COVID-19, will encounter enhanced pre-entry and arrival testing, screening, and quarantine measures.”

“As time goes on, border testing surveillance will be adjusted based on the most up-to-date evidence to further reduce the risk of this variant being imported.” All fully vaccinated travellers arriving by air from destinations other than the United States will be subjected to arrival testing in the coming days. Travellers who are fully vaccinated will be required to quarantine while waiting for the results of their arrival test.
“Non – vaccinated visitors with a right of entry to Canada will be tested on arrival and day 8, and will be held in quarantine for 14 days.” Those arriving by air, on the other hand, will now be required to remain in a designated quarantine facility or another suitable location while awaiting the results of their on-arrival test.

“The Canadian government will continue to assess the situation as it develops, monitor case data, and adjust border measures as necessary.” The Canadian government collaborates with government agencies. While the impact of all variants is still being assessed in Canada, vaccination, in conjunction with public health and individual measures, is helping to prevent the spread of COVID-19 and its variants, according to the report.

“We are taking quick action at our borders to mitigate travel-related importations of the Omicron variant,” said Minister of Health Jean-Yves Duclos. Even though our monitoring systems are functioning properly, we now realise that the Omicron variant exists in Canada. In our actions, we must remain vigilant. Vaccination and standard public health measures like masking and reducing the number of people with whom we communicate slow down transmission, decrease hospitalisation and death, and keep our health systems from becoming overwhelmed. We must all strive to do our part to ensure the safety of all Canadians.”

Follow us on social media:

Share this content:

2 thoughts on “Omicron: Nigeria, Egypt, and Malawi are barred from entering Canada”

  1. Only veemedical team have skills to share a dangerous news in such informative ways.
    Hopefully Omicron will spread quickly like COVID-19

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top